Resurrection in Orvieto

Signorelli Resurrection

This is a quickie post – I just feet the need to record some memories and feelings before they fade away… like tears in the rain.

It was some years back when I first saw Signorelli’s «Resurrection». All the frescoes about the Last Judgment in the Duomo of Orvieto are stunning. Later I read that Michelangelo borrowed some ideas from Signorelli for his own resurrection in Capela Cistina.

I will never forget my first visit to the small town in the north of Rome with my late uncle. Walking around the city, mentally travelling centuries back when man was closer to god, talking about the need of the human race to have something to believe/fear of, enjoying a splendid day.

I will never forget last Wednesday, when I revisited the town with my brother and his wife. We all thought it was going to be another same-old day (nothing meaningful that is). Alas, we were wrong! It proved to be an apocalyptic day for the three of us. A resurrection day that brought us closer in an awkward way that none of us was expecting.

I still wonder what resurrection really means… apocalypse included.

2 responses to “Resurrection in Orvieto

  1. no need to wonder. just call it «a little divine intervention»…

  2. Το καλό μ’αυτές τις λέξεις είναι ότι έχουν κάθε φορά το νόημα που ταιριάζει στην περίσταση…
    Η’ το νόημα που θέλουμε εμείς να έχουν. Και οι λέξεις και οι περιστάσεις.

Σχολιάστε

